Top Ten Words/Topics That Will Make Me NOT pick up a book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

So I am in a book shop browsing and this is normally what happens. I’d be lying if covers didn’t have an influence but I do try and not let them sway me too much.

Titles however have more of an input and any that include words like; “destiny / desire / chosen / shades / dark” (variations thereof) will generally get skipped.

Also erotic retellings of Classics / Fairytales? Just why?

Then there are the stickers. I don’t want stickers on my books anyway (especially when they’re tricky to get off) but there are two that almost always guarantee me not even checking the blurb:

sticks

…if you loved Twilight” Well I didn’t so I’m not going to like this right?
I don’t think it’s really like that, I remember one bookshop having A Witch in Winter by Ruth Warburton on a Twilight / Vampire Diaries display and I bought it regardless. It’s an awesome book!
Still rarely give anything with “Twilight” mention a second glace though…

The New Hunger Games” Similar problem to the previous, although I really enjoyed The Hunger Games (still need to read the other 2 at some point).
If I’ve already read The Hunger Games why read a new version of the same story? It’s not the intention here I realise that but “the new” to me just sounds like the characters will have different names while still following the same overall plot. I want to spend my money on something I haven’t read before.

No Twilight/Hunger Games stickers? Excellent. That book deserves a closer look.
I’m going to be checking out the blurb;

“Exciting new trilogy” I do read trilogies/series and I’m not saying they can’t be amazing but sometimes it feels like there is a standalone drought. I’m much more likely to take a chance on a book if I know I don’t have to invest in another two on the back of that (just to have a complete story).

bored now...but mysterious [insert-random-guy-name] notices her
Already asleep, I’m seriously sick of “mysterious guys” and their charming “lopsided smiles” who generally turn out to controlling jerks, but you know it’s ok because it’s only to protect the protagonist. No thanks.

torn between guy1 & guy2 / her destiny” *snores*

Saga” Sounds like I need to be in for this for the long-haul and is it really worth it?

epic journey”  This is somewhat based on previous reading experience. So far the majority of books with these two words have turned out to be overkill on the description of character appearance, clothes, the surroundings, etc. It’s like the word “epic” means that the author has to fill another 100 pages somehow.

And the two words that nearly always kill it:
sticks 2
Really? What’s going to happen if I don’t? Let’s see… *walks out*

How about you?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Words/Topics That Will Make Me NOT pick up a book

  1. Hahaha, awesome list! I don’t like stickers on my books either. You’re ruining the covers/dust jackets!

    Also yeah: “the new Hunger Games” or anything similar just drives me up the wall! My mother-in-law suggested a YA book to me recently and I was interested until she told me “they’re saying it’s like the next Hunger Games and it’s gonna be made into movies and everything.” Arrrgh!

    Ugh, “trilogy” is another dirty word to my ears these days. Can we get some more standalone books, please? Or heck, if it’s going to be a series, how about just two books? or maybe four? But really, I’d like a few more individual, single, on-their-own books!

  2. Erotic retellings?! This is the first time I’ve heard of that and boy, is that scary. -shivers- I’ll definitely be staying far, far, FAR away from that.
    Great list! 😀

    My TTT

Leave a Reply

