The Spook’s Battle by Joseph Delaney

How did I get the book? Received from the publisher, in an exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Fantasy

Previously reviewed:
The Spook’s Apprentice Book #1
The Spook’s Curse Book #2
The Spook’s Secret Book #3

Synopsis:I see your future clearly. Your master will be dead and you will be alone.’
The Spook and his apprentice protect County from the dark abut now a terrible danger threatens.
The witches are rising and the three most powerful clans are uniting to conjure an unimaginable evil – the Devil himself.
If they succeed, will Tom and his master have the courage and cunning to defeat the most powerful enemy of all…?

200words (or less) review:  First thought I had when I picked this book up: “It’s a brick.” From the first 11 books in the Wardstone Chronicles this one is the biggest, it’s over 500 pages. I was a little worried if I’m honest but thankfully Joseph Delaney wastes no time in getting started.

The Spook plans to travel to Pendle to deal with the Witches there once and for all. The plan is bought abruptly forward when Tom’s older brother and his family get kidnapped by witches along with of Tom’s inheritance, the boxes from his Mam’s room.

A lot happens in this book, many of which I can’t really discuss without spoiling it. So I’ll be brief, Alice and what Tom discovers about his mother were by far the most interesting things for me. There were plenty of nail-biting moments and Tibb certainly creeped me out. He reminded me a lot of Smeagol from Lord of the Rings, I kept waiting for him to say “my precious”.

The Spook’s Battle is my favourite of the series so far, looking forward to seeing what comes next.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

One thought on “The Spook’s Battle by Joseph Delaney

Leave a Reply

