Slumber by Tamara Blake

cover33334-mediumHow did I get the book?  Netgalley, thank you @ Diversion Books

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: Once upon a time, Ruby believed in magic…
When Ruby volunteers to take her mother’s housecleaning shift at the gothic Cottingley Heights mansion, she thinks it’s going to be business as usual. Clean out the fridge, scrub toilets, nothing too unusual. But nothing could prepare her for the decadent squalor she finds within. Rich people with more money than sense trashing their beautiful clothes and home just because they can. After the handsome Tam discovers her cleaning up after him and his rich friends, Ruby has never felt more like a character from her sister’s book of fairy tales.
Tam sees beyond Ruby’s job and ratty clothes, and sweeps her off her feet, treating her like a real princess, but Ruby is sure this beautiful boy is too good to be true. And as one tragedy after another befalls Ruby and her family, Ruby painfully learns that magic is all too real, and it always comes with a price.

200words (or less) review: When it comes to anything remotely fairy-tale-ish I am bound to end up getting my hands on it so I was really happy to read Slumber for review.

It’s an easy story to read and if I hadn’t started it really late one night I’m certain I would have finished it in one sitting. The book starts somewhat predictably; Ruby covers her mum’s cleaning shift because she’s sick. The house is old and weird, halfway through her shift Ruby meets Tam the mysterious and beautiful stranger. Ok I’ll admit it, at that point I was a little concerned BUT ooh the second half of this book is so good!

Ruby’s likable from the start but the more she gets sucked into Cottingley Heights the more she became the kind of protagonist I wanted to cheer for. Didn’t matter that Tam was handing her (his version) of heaven – Ruby did not forget what was important and she stood up for herself.

I loved the traditional tasks for the challenge and given my reaction to the ending I must have been hooked because… *drumroll*
“There has to be a sequel, do not leave me hanging like this!”

(I rarely say that.)

Recommend it?

Yes*

*3.5 Stars

One thought on “Slumber by Tamara Blake

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #45 | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

