Carrie by Stephen King

How did I get the book?
Borrowed.

Genre: Horror

Synopsis: Carrie White is no ordinary girl.
Carrie White has the gift of telekinesis.
To be invited to Prom Night by Tommy Ross is a dream come true for Carrie – the first step towards social acceptance by her high school colleagues.
But events will take a decidedly macabre turn on that horrifying and endless night as she is forced to exercise her terrible gift on the town that mocks and loathes her…

200words (or less) review: I have known the story of Carrie for years, snippets of conversation here and there and last month I ended up listening to two people talk about the book yet again and thought I should finally read it.

Carrie is the first Stephen King book I’ve read, I don’t think it’ll be the last but I wouldn’t class myself as a fan because of it. Carrie is narrated in third person with police reports, extracts from scientific papers, autobiographies, etc thrown in. Despite this it’s very easy to follow and I think it’s interesting how the reader knows from the beginning that Carrie’s story doesn’t end well but you still want to read it to find out how it got to this point.

It is easy to sympathise with Carrie who really doesn’t stand a chance between her home and school life. For me the scariest thing in this book by far was Carrie’s mother. She just gave me nightmares and the bullying is just awful.

Carrie is one of those books that makes you think about it for days after.
I love those types of books.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Leave a Reply

