Geekhood: Mission Improbable by Andy Robb

How did I get the book?
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest reviews.

Genre: Contemporary

Reviewed by same author: Geekhood: CEotGK

Synopsis: Archie is a Geek to his core – and despite having a Close Encounter with Sarah at the beginning of term, he’s still completely clueless about girls. Enter Clare – an older woman (she’s sixteen) who Archie meets on his weekend trip to see his dad and his nightmare step-mum, Jane. Clare and Archie hit it off – and she’s got a brilliant, foolproof way to get their crushes to notice them: pretend to be going out with one another! What can possibly go wrong? In the midst of school, getting Sarah to forgive him and dealing with his insane family, Archie and his mates step-up the nerdiness and go Live Action Role-play gaming. Ladies and gentlemen, we are entering a new era…

200words (or less) review: I’ve been wanting to read Geekhood 2 since about 5 minutes after I completed book 1. That’s almost a year ago, yet when it arrived I just looked at it for over two weeks before finally picking it up. Simply I was scared. What if it’s not as good?

Thankfully everything I loved about Geekhood CEOTGK is still there. Archie’s IM continues to provide commentary, his friends remain geektastic and the writing is amazeballs. (Yes I will be using those words!) There is great character development for Sarah, who now feels like a person not a just Archie’s fantasy.

Living up to Geekhood CEOTGK is a pretty impossible ask because that book came out of nowhere (if someone hadn’t told me to read it I might never have bought it) and was one of my favourite reads of 2012. Andy Robb hasn’t let me down.

Geekhood Mission Improbable is an excellent sequel and if there is more of Archie to come I will be fighting my way to front of the line to read it.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Leave a Reply

