At Yellow Lake by Jane McLoughlin

click meHow did I get the book?   I bought it.

Genre: Contemporary

First Impression: Something different.

Synopsis: Jonah is at Yellow Lake to get in touch with his Ojibwe heritage. Peter has come from England to bury a lock of his mother’s hair–her final request. Etta on the run from her mom’s creepy boyfriend and his criminal friends. As the three take shelter in a cabin by the shore of the lake, they soon understand that they have stumbled onto the scene of a horrifying crime.
Will they leave the lake alive?

200 words (or less) review: At Yellow Lake is different from anything I’ve read this year, it’s intense and emotional. There are some moments in the story that a heart-breaking. Jane McLoughlin has provided three very different characters that all have their own stories – which bring them together at Yellow Lake.

I did enjoy this book but it took me a while to get used to the narration. Each character’s story is told in alternating chapters throughout the book. Etta’s is in first person, whereas Peter and Jonah’s chapters are in third and that’s confusing. I wasn’t particularly attached to any of the characters, so the urgency in finding out what happened next wasn’t there while I was reading.

That said, the writing is good, during some of the slower parts I carried on just for the pleasure of reading because of this. There are some really intense moments where I couldn’t put the books down but At Yellow Lake wasn’t a book I had to finish before I could go to bed.

I think At Yellow Lake is one of those books you appreciate the more you read it so I’m looking forward to seeing how my perceptions change the next time – because I will be reading it again.

Recommend it?

Yes

Leave a Reply

