Della Says: OMG! by Keris Stainton

click meThe Pink Thing: Book 11

How did I get the book? Winning bid, Write Dreams.

Genre: Contemporary

First Impression: Finally!*

Additional Information: My copy of Della Says: OMG! comes with a big sticker on the front saying “Not suitable for younger readers” which would have sold me on the book before I even read the back.
I’m not sure what that says about me…

Synopsis: Della’s over the moon when she kisses her long-standing crush at a party – but then she discovers her diary has disappeared…
When scans of embarrassing pages are sent to her mobile and appear on Facebook, Della’s distraught – how can she enjoy her first proper romance when someone, somewhere, knows all her deepest, darkest secrets?

200 words (or less) review: I wanted to like Della Says: OMG! but I ended up loving it. Most of that is due to Della who starts of so unsure of herself but grows up a lot. I really felt for her, she doesn’t know her place with her family and if Dan’s advances are genuine without coming being full of self-pity.

Della’s relationship with her sister was something I had great empathy with. There is a close line between love and hate but in Della’s case it was just a giant gap. I agree with Maddy, Della’s parents are great. I actually liked all the characters in the story though Maddy’s sub plot didn’t always sit right with me. I even grew quite fond of Dan who was nice without being a waschlappen (wimp).

Considering the length of the book it’s amazing how much Keris Stainton crams in there without losing the entertainment. It’s a book about relationships, not just the boy/girl kind but also about dealing with the things that life throws at you and trusting yourself.

Della Says: OMG! is a really good book. Read it, you won’t be disappointed.

Recommend it?

Yes + Sunshine Star 

*I’d been notquitesopatiently waiting to read this since the beginning of the year. Patience is not my thing.
Leave a Reply

