Emma Hearts LA by Keris Stainton

click meHow did I get the book?  
Winning bid, Write Dreams.

Genre: Contemporary

Additional Information: I should probably review Della and Jessie first but I’m stuck home sick and just finished Emma Hearts LA which cheered me up no end for I’m starting with it.

Synopsis: Emma’s not sure that LA’s for her, but when she accompanies her sister Jane to an audition, a chance meeting with a teen TV star starts to change her new sunshine lifestyle for the better… But what about Oscar, so far her only friend in LA, who’s turning out NOT to be the idiot she thought he was?
Soon Emma begins to find herself torn between two boys and reconsidering her entire future.
Maybe LA’s not that bad after all

225 words* review: I was only going to read a couple of chapters when I started but couldn’t put the book down. Emma Hearts LA is fun, interesting and sweet.

I liked Emma in Jessie Hearts NYC (she was actually my favourite character) and was really happy she got her own story. Much like Emma I imagined LA to be very plastic but Venice sounded really cool. I actually want to go there now, provided I can travel in an air-conditioned bubble.

All the characters are good. I was particularly impressed by Bex and her determination of following her dream. She’s actually pretty inspiring and I’ll admit it I did grow rather fond of Oscar. Geeky-boys so much more interesting than the dreamboats and I was routing for him from the start.

Emma comes across as someone who’s got her head screwed on right (even when she gets it wrong) and it was nice to see her learning that while she’s good at dishing out the advice it’s not that easy to follow it herself. I also love the sarcasm.

Emma Hearts LA is a really entertaining read, crammed full of humour, interesting characters and current event commentary. Plus any books that mentions Blackpool and/or Lytham gets a bonus point because there is something really cool about reading about your home town. (That might just be me though…)

Recommend it?

Positively, absolutely.

 *oh yes I broke the max word count!

Leave a Reply

