Entangled by Cat Clarke

click hereHow did I get the book? I bought it.

Genre: Mystery

First Impression: Promising.

Synopsis: What does he want from me?
How could I have let this happen?
Am I going to die?

17-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper—and no clue how she got there.
As Grace pours her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she’s tried to forget. There’s falling hopelessly in love with the gorgeous Nat, and the unravelling of her relationship with her best friend Sal. But there’s something missing. As hard as she’s trying to remember, is there something she just can’t see?
Then, in a story full of dangerous revelations, Grace must face the most important question of all: why is she here?

200 words (or less) review:  It took me a while to get into this story. Honestly Grace is not an easy character to grow attached to; she’s lost, angry and damaged. Frankly she’s a mess and once I got over the preconception that I was supposed to care about her I actually really started to enjoy the narration.

I’m not going to say I ever grew fond of Grace but I wanted to know what happened to her. The idea, waking up in a white room with no knowledge of how she got there, is really intriguing. Parts of the story, Sal’s actions in particular, I found predictable but there is still plenty of mystery left for you to figure out.

The writing is good and after I finished Entangled I promptly bought Torn which I think is going to be even better.

Recommend it?

Yes.

Leave a Reply

