Sunshine by Robin McKinley

How did I get the book?  Bought it, twice. One is travel-sized that’s my defence and I’m sticking to it.

Genre: Paranclick meormal

Additional information: Since I’ve based my entire review policy on this book I thought I’d better explain:

I first read Sunshine in 2003 before Vampires & Werewolves were “it”. I’d already read quite a few books by Robin McKinley and added her to my authors-who-must-be-read-list. I didn’t expect to love this book – I thought I’d like it. At one stage I seriously considered travelling all the way to London for a book-signing, my credit card disagreed and I stayed put.

Synopsis: There are places in the world where darkness rules, where it’s unwise to walk. Sunshine knew that. But there hadn’t been any trouble out at the lake for years, and she needed a place to be alone for a while. Unfortunately, she wasn’t alone. She never heard them coming. Of course you don’t, when they’re vampires…

They took her clothes and sneakers. They dressed her in a long red gown. And they shackled her to the wall of an abandoned mansion – within easy reach of a figure stirring in the moonlight.

She knows that he is a vampire. She knows that she’s to be his dinner, and that when he is finished with her, she will be dead. Yet, when light breaks, she finds that he has not attempted to harm her. And now it is he who needs her to help him survive the day…

200 words (or less) review: The reason I love this book is because of Rae. Wonderful cinnamon-rolls-as-big-as-your-head-baking Rae who will spend pages telling you details of her world in such a way that can never be boring. She’s not a hero. She reads trashy novels, spends too much time surfing the globenet and has a need to feed people gene. I don’t actually like cake but I’d want to be in Charlie’s Coffeehouse all the same.

Rae makes a mistake, she goes to the lake and gets taken. She is supposed to die – she knows this – but she doesn’t. Why? Who is Con and why doesn’t he kill her?

Her friends and family, plus Con (who is his own category), are plentiful and unique. I could picture them all, each one has his/her own way of trying to help Rae – most of which she doesn’t want.

The world Robin McKinley created is amazing. It might sound similar to begin with but there is so much to explore. Rae is also one of the few MC’s who has the right balance between feisty and realistic.

This is the book I give everyone who tells me they have nothing to read. Nobody has ever handed it back.

Leave a Reply

