“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” C.S. Lewis

Typecast

So my original target was 10 books and getting to 70% for my approval ratio.

I read & reviewed 8 books, however I accidentally requested Crash Into You both with MiraInk & HarlequinTeenUS so it’s really 9 books on Netgalley. Does that count as cheating?

After some consideration I finally threw in the towel on a number of titles I’d requested ages ago and never really got into. Having started them and given up, they’ve just been left and honestly I don’t ever see me picking them up again. So I wrote a ‘DNF but thank you note’ as feedback. I don’t know if that is a good or bad idea but ignoring them for another year seemed silly.

Books reviewed:

Crash into You by Katie McGarry
Sometimes Never, Sometimes Always by Elissa Janine Hoole
Gemini Falling by Eleanor Wood
Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
The Madness Underneath (Shades of London #2) by Maureen Johnson
The In-Between by Barbara Stewart
After Eden by Helen Douglas

Because of the DNF reviews I did manage to achieve my approval ratio target but only just. It currently stands at 70.5%

No guarantee how long this will last as I haven’t stopped requested books (despite my best intensions) but hopefully I can continue keeping on top of these. I’m thinking of setting myself a minimum target of eGalley’s to read each month. What do you think?

How did your Netgalley November turn out?

Follow on Bloglovin

Comments on: "Netgalley November – The End? (Maybe…)" (7)

  1. Great job Luna. I’m also around 70-71% which I’m pleased about. Many of my galleys are now for Jan, Feb and March, so I’m either going to read in advance and queue them, or try to read them in time!

  2. I also requested Carsh Into You ;), haven’t heard if I’ve been approved yet though. I have DNF’d a lot of books for this challenge instead of reading them.

  3. You did great :) I had to submit a DNF review for one I tried to read this month but just couldn’t because the formatting was TERRIBLE and I couldn’t read a thing.

    I’m going to set myself a target to read an equal number of NetGalley books each month to what I request. That way my feedback ratio shouldn’t go lower :)

    My Final Update

  4. I read 14 books and DNF’d another 7. That shows me I clearly need to be more selective when requesting titles. While I don’t actually review (or rate) DNF books, I always submit a note on NetGalley thanking them for the chance to read it and let them know why I DNF’d it. I do the same type of thing on Goodreads. I figure if I make it to 30-40% of a book and I’m not into it, there’s no sense wasting my time. But, I’m also not going to one-star something because I didn’t finish it… if that makes any sense. I shelve it as DNF and note why.

    Congrats on a successful challenge!

    My NetGalley November Wrap-Up.

  5. I like that we have all learnt something through this challenge.
    I will certainly be more selective with the titles I select.
    I have also learnt to be less precious about the feedback I provide ( I’m more likely feedback the I DNF a book) and that I work well with a deadline.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,067 other followers

