“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” C.S. Lewis

(either by teachers, friends, other bloggers, book club) — doesn’t necessarily have to be a BAD thing. Could be required reading, yes, but also book club, or just super enthusiastic friends “making” you read something!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Success

Five on a Treasure Island by Enid Blyton
Who made me read it: My mum

I used to hate books, my mum was such a massive bookworm that I’d watch her hunt through bookshops for hours. When I was 6 this was not fun but then one day I told her I was bored and she handed me the above. Since then… well you know.

Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
Who made me read it: Katie @ StorytellerInc

It’s wonderful, I just love it so much.

Z for Zachariah by Robert C. O’Brien
Who made me read it: Secondary School

We read this the very first term I started school in England. I finished the book before everyone else in my class and then made the mistake of talking to my teacher about it. Thus cementing my ‘weird’ tag for the remainder of the school year.

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
Who made me read it: College

I loved the book already and thankfully having to dissect it didn’t ruin it – although I did avoid it for a while.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Who made me read it: @mariekeyn

After repeatedly asking if I’d finally read it yet – I did and yes I loved it. Also I cried.

Harry Potter (Books 1-4)
Who made me read it: My aunt

I was determined not to join the HP bandwagon but when I was on holiday I ran out of reading material one Sunday and with no bookshops open I was stuck. My aunt handed me the first Harry Potter and 2 ½ days later I’d read the first 4 books. After which I bought the others on the day they were published.

In the middle

I Am a Star: Child of the Holocaust by Inge Auerbacher
Who made me read it: Primary School in Germany

This book still haunts me, which I guess means my teachers achieved what they wanted.

Slumber by Tamara Blake
Who made me read it: ChrissiReads

Chrissi was so excited about this book and we have similar tastes. I enjoyed Slumber but I didn’t love as much as Chrissi.

Not for me

Life of Pi by Martel Yann
Who made me read it: Book Club

I can appreciate the writing and didn’t dislike the characters as such but it was so tedious and boring. I really struggled getting through it.

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
Who made me read it: Me

I used to hate giving up on books (getting a little better at this now) and because I’d read and enjoyed other titles by Gena Showalter I thought I just stick it through. With so many glowing reviews I figured it must just be me but I only finished this because I was too stubborn to give up.

What were you forced to read?

Comments on: "Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read" (9)

  1. Yay :-) Glad Slumber made your list, even if you didn’t love it as much as me ;-) You seem to feature on my list as a person that has ‘forced’ me to read some books!

  2. Ugh, I also couldn’t stand Life of Pi — I don’t get what all the fuss is about!

  3. I loved Five on a Treasure Island (especially George!), Code Name Verity & Harry Potter so yay, I’m glad you liked them. :)

  4. Glad your mom helped you find a great read early.

    It would be interesting to see what non-readers would say about this prompt. I imagine they’d have entirely different experiences.

    Here’s my Top Ten Most Memorable Books I Was Forced to Read.

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Daddy Long Legs before, going to look it up now!

  6. Ooh I just got Code Name Verity and am so excited to read it! I read and liked Slumber as well. I thought it was a really interesting take on a fairytale retelling.

  7. This is a great list! I haven’t read a lot of them but I’m really interested now!

  8. Everyone has Code Name Verity on their list! I definitely need to read it! You have a great list!

  9. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to read Alice in Zombieland, I just do not like zombies. I have managed to read the first two books in a series called The Undertakers by Ty Drago, and really enjoyed them, but they’re not “normal” zombies and I think that’s what made the difference for me.

    And I like that we have similar “origin stories” when it comes to Harry Potter! :D

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,296 other followers

