“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” C.S. Lewis

How did I get the book?
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Mystery / Paranormal

Also reviewed by same author: Slide

Synopsis: Be afraid of your shadow…Vee Bell has witnessed murder. She nearly died trying to track down the killer, all because of her secret condition. She’d tell her best friend Rollins but lately he seems more interested in his colleague Anna than her. Maybe she should confide in her long-lost aunt who’s turned up out of the blue? All of a sudden life is happening in reverse: Vee is waking up in weird places not knowing what she’s done. The only thing she’s sure of is that someone is messing with her. And when a prank goes horribly wrong, this time the hands with blood on them might be hers.

200words (or less) review: After enjoying book 1 so much I was pleasantly surprised to see there was a sequel. I’d strongly recommend reading Slide prior reading Imposter to get a better understanding of all the characters.

Where Slide was enjoyable and intriguing Imposter is definitely darker. The story is more complex and all of the characters have grown. Vee’s little sister is more believable and likeable, redeeming herself from the previous story.

I didn’t like Vee as much this time, I understand the reasoning behind her actions but I didn’t really agree with a lot of them. What I lost in my appreciation of narrator I gained in the actual story so I think it’s a fair trade.

The mystery in Imposter is not as easy to unravel and the atmosphere is much suited for the subject of the story. As a sequel I think Jill Hathaway has managed build well and the world she previously created. I certainly won’t object if there is another adventure for Vee in the future.

Recommend it?

Yes*

*3.5 Stars

Comments on: "Imposter (Slide #2) by Jill Hathaway" (3)

  1. I found my way here via Kelley’s ‘Most Reviews Scare Me’ discussion. Firstly, I love your 200 word reviews, it really works Secondly, that books sounds great! I love mystery/suspense so that’s 2 more I must check out.

  2. I’m glad you liked it. I was really looking forward to this book. I had some issues with Slide, but I did really love it. That sucks to find out that this isn’t much of an improvement on that but I am glad it was still enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,271 other followers

