“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” C.S. Lewis

How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Science Fiction

Additional Information: I’ll admit it, I saw the movie first. I bought I Am Number Four in 2011 and there it sat on the shelf waiting. Watching the movie made me move this book even further down the TBR pile.
I have never yet seen a movie be better than the book and I Am Number Four just proved it all over again.

click meSynopsis: Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books–but we are real.
Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing.
But “they” know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.
I am Number Four.
I am next.

200words (or less) review: I didn’t love this book. The writing felt a bit choppy, especially in the first half of the book and I’m not particularly keen on John (aka Number 4). I never figured out if he was supposed to be nerdy but fit or the dark brooding type. His characterisation was a bit all over the place for me and Sarah was just unbelievable. I’m all for people dealing with extraordinary situations in a dignified manner but the “oh that’s ok then” attitude just rubs me the wrong way.

Here’s the BUT; yes I was a little apprehensive about reading this book but in the end was pleasantly surprised throughout. John’s family (Henri) and his new friend (Sam) are really good characters. And you have to love Bernie Kosar.

I Am Number Four is a great idea that lost some of its sparkle due to some of the characters. That said it was still miles better than I thought it would be.

Recommend it?

Yes.

Comments on: "I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (Lorien Legacies #1)" (2)

  1. Sounds like pretty much what I expected. (Yes, I’m basing this off the movie; yes, I’m aware that’s a bad thing to do.)

    Do you plan to read the next book(s) in the series?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

