“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” C.S. Lewis

Interview with Kat Zhang

Click here!

Kat Zhang has kindly stopped by to talk a bit about writing, celebrating & travel.

My review of  What’s Left of Me is here
.

Why did you want to write this book?
I actually initially started writing WHAT’S LEFT OF ME to distract myself from the querying process for another book! After I got into WLoM, though, it was really always about the characters for me. I always write stories because a character (or characters!) take over my mind, and I need to tell their stories.

Favorite part of being a published writer?
Definitely interacting with readers! And also the inside look at the publishing world. I love this whole book-making business. It makes the little kid in me, the one who loved books more than anything else in the world, swoon ;)

Who do you think has it easier, Eva or Addie?
Oh, I can’t say! Well, maybe Eva, in the end, especially when she can’t move or speak aloud. But that isn’t to belittle Addie’s hardships at all. Both girls have it tough.

Have you got your own place to write or can you write anywhere?
I can write most anywhere, but I love best to write somewhere silent and dimly lit :)

When you found out The Hybrid Chronicles had sold how did you celebrate?
I can’t remember, haha. I think my online writer friends and I threw an online party ;) At the time, I didn’t have a lot of “in person” friends at college who were writers, or who even knew I wrote!

You’re at the airport with a free pass to get on any plane – where would you go?
Right now, Europe. I know, broad, right? But my friend and I are planning a Europe trip for next summer (the UK is definitely on the list!), so it’s on the mind ;)

Let me know if you end up near Blackpool, I’ll show you the sights. ^_-

Can you tell us a little about what will happen in The Hybrid Chronicles going forward?
Well, I don’t want to spoil anything, but I can say that each book gets progressively wider in scope :)

If you could, what would you want to ask your readers?
Hmm… What makes you fall in love with a character? :)

What’s Left of Me
Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

 

Quickfire Round:

When no one is watching, do you dance?
Yes! Sometimes I dance when people are watching, too ;)

What would be your superpower?
I’d really like to fly. Or be invisible. Think about all the people-watching you could do! So much writing-fodder ;)

One thing you couldn’t write without?
Dunno! I can write in most situations :P Peace and quiet, I guess!

Tea or coffee?
Coffee if I desperately need caffeine. Tea if I’m just drinking for fun.

What word describes you best?
Oh, man, I’ve no idea. Mercurial :P

Favorite place?
Depends! With my nose in a book ;)

Last film you saw at the cinema? (Is it movies?)
Ummm…I think it was The Dark Knight Rises!

What’s the perfect cure to a bad day?
Cake. Haha, just kidding. A good rant to a close friend about said bad day. Then a good movie/book to whisk you someplace else :P

Do you read books more than once?
(If yes, name the last one.)

I used to! Now I do so much less since I have less time to read and too many books I want to read! I honestly can’t recall the last book I read all the way through more than once…

And finally, what is the question you wish people would ask and never do?
I don’t really have one ;) You bloggers always ask all the great questions!

>

WHAT’S LEFT OF ME is due out on the 27 September 2012 here in the UK!

Comments on: "Interview with Kat Zhang" (1)

  1. Such a cool interview! I cannot wait to read this book!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,266 other followers

